It’s My Body

When I got engaged, I phoned my gynaecologist’s office to see if there was an alternative to the pill for my issues (I’d somewhat talked about it at the appointment before then, but I wanted to ask point blank). As is customary for such offices, my question was taken to the nurse, who asked what I wanted and why. In talking to her, I mentioned that I’m Catholic and was not comfortable using the pill once married. She then became obviously agitated and told me “it’s your body and no one can tell you what to do with it!” Taken aback by this attitude, I quickly got off and my question was never taken to the doctor, to my knowledge.

All these years later, and I can’t help thinking about it. Besides assuming that I couldn’t possibly be asking this question of my own volition, she also didn’t give me a choice. It’s my body, and she was adamant I should have a choice, yet she didn’t give me a choice. I wanted to know what, if any, alternatives were available so I could have a choice and not be stuck with something I didn’t especially like, but no choice was given.

Musing on that led me to consider how often this idea of “choice” is often no more than lip service. The choices that are promoted and offered are all meant to suppress or thwart a working part of a woman’s anatomy, and other choices are derided. Instead of teaching a woman to chart and thus identify issues, she’s given a bandaid. Those who choose to chart anyway are derided as using something unscientific when it is actually backed by science. It seems somewhat ironic that this mantra of choice actually allows for only one choice. Surely women should be given all the information available to make a truly informed choice?

3 thoughts on “It’s My Body

  1. I agree that the nurse did you a disservice and should have respected the choice you made rather than dismissing it. That being said, what bothers me about the NaPro/Creighton folks is their secrecy. They say they can learn all this stuff from charting, but they won’t teach docs their secrets unless the docs buy into the whole no bc agenda. I don’t have a problem with them limiting their residency slots to those who buy into their beliefs, especially as it must be very difficult for an anti-birth control person to get a gyn residency elsewhere. But why aren’t they publishing about this wonderful technique? In other words, if a woman goes to her pill-pushing gyn and wants a workup like the napro folks do, how can s/he find out what to do?

    • I honestly don’t know much about Creighton and their policies. I know there were a few GPs learning Billings when I was, but I don’t know if they had to completely agree not to prescribe the pill. I would hope they’d come to that, but even if they don’t, this knowledge is valuable. Some NHS midwives are trained in sympto-thermal, though.

Leave a Reply

