You’ll Be Amazed

Now that Kieran will be turning 6, I have to start officially homeschooling him. Now, I essentially follow the “unschooling” route, though this doesn’t mean I don’t utilize educational materials. I like to treat everything as an opportunity to learn, though.

Even though I know this, lately I’ve been a little worried that maybe we weren’t doing enough “school”-type things. I decided to start documenting it, and downloaded the Homeschool Helper app to organize my documentation. At the end of the day, I jot down all the things we did.

Let me tell you, I was amazed when I started documenting everything. That app first lets me input the subjects we cover, and that alone amazed me for I saw that we regularly cover writing, reading, maths, science, music, religion, history, art, French, physical education, and creative play (I include this as a subject because it is one way they process the things they’ve learned, and that is an important part of life for a child, too). While I knew we covered these things, seeing it documented really put things in perspective. It’s just amazing what we cover without doing much that is “formal”!

One thought on “You’ll Be Amazed

Leave a Reply

