Interruption

Do I allow God to interrupt my life? While this applies daily, I was thinking about this specifically in regards to the Assumption, which was last week. It is a Holy Day of Obligation, meaning Catholics are obliged to attend Mass. Even though I try to attend daily Mass with the kids, this was a bit of an interruption from God. There were multiple Masses, of course, but it was still a bit of an interruption.

And that got me thinking of the necessity of such interruptions. Sure, we go to Mass on Sundays, and during the week if possible. But this was still a needed interruption where I was reminded that God’s calendar trumps my own. It was a needed call to remember Him.

On a similar note, I suppose that is the purpose of the Liturgy of the Hours. I’m lucky if I do Lauds, let alone the others. We’ve been cultivating the habit of the Angelus prayer, though. So far I do it upon waking, then we do it together before lunch; we’ve not regularly added in the evening one yet. Even this little bit is a welcome interruption to my thoughts and tasks in the day, though I admit I sometimes rush through. Though my efforts are rather meager, I hope that, by the grace of God, these efforts cultivate good spiritual habits so that we learn to focus more on God through these “interruptions”.

One thought on “Interruption

Leave a Reply

