Experiments that Worked

Having a child with multiple food intolerances makes life interesting. I’ve had to relearn how to cook, really. I’ve also taken to experimenting some so I can have things I like that are safe for Leo to eat. On Sunday, I found myself making a roast chicken. Now, making a roast on a Sunday made me feel I should also make Yorkshire puddings. The problem with that, of course, is the egg(I figured replacing the dairy wouldn’t be as hard). I usually use flaxseed meal mixed with water (1 T flaxseed meal to 3 T water for 1 egg). I wasn’t sure if that would make it too heavy, but I decided to try it anyway. I took the recipe from this site, and tweaked it. So here’s what I ended up doing:
3/4 c self-raising flour
1 tsp salt
3/4 tsp baking powder
Flaxseed egg replacer
1 c rice milk

I probably let it sit longer than 30 minutes, but everything else was per the recipe’s directions. They turned out quite well! The texture was very similar; the taste was a little different, but not bad at all. My husband isn’t fond of eggs, and he liked this recipe better than normal Yorkshires. The kids also enjoyed them – all asked for seconds. I will definitely repeat this.

Leave a Reply

