Rejoice with them that rejoice; weep with them that weep.

Last night as I was remembering various intentions in my prayers, this verse from Romans came into my head: Rejoice with them that rejoice; weep with them that weep. (Rom 12:15, DRB)

At the time, I was praying for various people who are going through difficulties, or whose friends and family are, and I generally found it easy to “weep with them that weep.”

Then I remembered the first part of the verse, and I realized I’m not very good at that one. It is hard to “rejoice with them that rejoice” sometimes, especially when I feel like we’ve been waiting a long time without answers for some things. Sometimes when I hear of something good happening for another, my first thought isn’t “wow, that’s great, praise God,” but, “so when is it our turn?” It shames me to admit that, but I guess I’m glad I recognize that I’m doing it. Maybe it’ll help me to truly rejoice with those who rejoice, and not just lament that it isn’t my turn. I pray for the grace for that to be true, at least.

2 thoughts on “Rejoice with them that rejoice; weep with them that weep.

  1. We are only human. It is difficult to rejoice with others when our lives are going through a rough patch. I try. I pray. And I hope they understand. Nice to “meet” you in the blogging world. God bless.

Leave a Reply

