Fool Me Twice – Shame On Me

For as long as I’ve been voting, there have been those urging pro-life voters to vote Republican because that’s the only way we can further the pro-life cause. Every time, though, once the person is voted in he either doesn’t keep the promises or is simply unable to do so. In the meantime, other aspects of the pro-life cause are ignored or exacerbated by these same politicians.

If this had only happened once, I could understand continuing to believe the rhetoric. It hasn’t happened only once, though. It’s happened year after year, and still happening during this election cycle as some in the pro-life movement urge voters to vote Republican because they promised to defund Planned Parenthood and put in conservative justices!

There’s a saying – “fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice, shame on me.” Even if I pretend that I can believe the candidates (which is doubtful, given the track record), it’s unlikely they’d be able to make good on these promises. I’m not falling for it again.

Instead of continuing to fall for the idea that we must vote Republican to be pro-life, how about we vote truly pro-life? I know people say a 3rd party candidate can’t win, but if everyone would stop deluding themselves that the major parties will actually help them this time (promise! Just trust me!) and would instead vote for the candidate best suited for the job, whatever the party, maybe we’d actually have a more representative government. I personally vote 3rd party quite often, in local, state, and national elections. I vote for the best-qualified person, regardless of party affiliation.

Leave a Reply

