Pray Without Ceasing

I sometimes envy those in religious life, who can devote their waking hours to prayer without ceasing, without distraction. As a mother, I know I’m a better mother when I spend more time in prayer and when I go to daily Mass, yet it can be daunting when I also must teach the children, fix meals, drive kids to lessons or practices, keep house, etc. Praying more than one or two decades of the Rosary as a family quickly devolves into something like, “Holy Mary, Mother of . . . so help me if you don’t stop hitting your sister!. . .God pray for us sinners now . .. I mean it!. . .and at the hour of our death.” I love the Liturgy of the Hours, and used to pray that with the Benedictine monks when we lived in Liverpool (and had only 2 children), but now it seems nigh impossible to do that (I’m sure it isn’t, I just haven’t figured out the schedule yet).

While lamenting that I didn’t often get through the Rosary, and didn’t maintain an attitude of prayer during the day, I decided to just write down a schedule. I’m still working it out, but this is what I have thus far:

wake-up – Angelus, morning offering, renewal of consecration, decade of thank You, Jesus prayer

after breakfast – opening prayers for the Rosary, Pope’s intentions, decade of thank You, Jesus prayer

before Mass (assuming I can get there) – 1st decade of the Rosary; decade of thank You, Jesus prayer

after Mass – 2nd decade of Rosary; decade of thank You, Jesus prayer

noon – Angelus, 3rd decade of Rosary, decade of thank You, Jesus prayer

15.00 – O Blood & Water prayer, 4th decade of Rosary, decade of thank You, Jesus prayer (on Fridays – Divine Mercy Chaplet)

dinner – Angelus, 5th decade of Rosary, decade of thank You, Jesus prayer

kids’ bedtime – intentions, St Michael prayer, Sacred & Immaculate Heart prayers, examen, decade of thank You, Jesus prayer

bed – closing Rosary prayers, decade of thank You, Jesus prayer

I’m already a little behind today since I’m still working it out and didn’t make it to Mass. I’m hoping this can become habit, though.

 

Leave a Reply

