Why I Can’t Be Colorblind

“I don’t see color. Everyone is awesome and the same in my eyes.” Thus says the white “colorblind” person. That was how I looked at life for many years, never realizing that simply doing that was itself a sign of my white privilege.

When I said I didn’t see the differences in color, I didn’t consider the different heritage of the other person.

When I said I didn’t see the differences, I didn’t see that the other person was treated differently just because of his skin color.

When I said I didn’t see the differences, I imagined people of every color living exactly the same way I, as a white woman, do. I pictured this ideal as everyone conforming to white culture, not considering that to do that, they had to lose their own.

So no, I’m not colorblind now. I see the differences – their beauty, yes, but also their struggles. I know there are struggles others have that I will never have, simply because I was lucky enough to be born white. I’m not perfect at this. But recognizing it is the first step. Here’s to many more steps in the right direction (I hope).

Leave a Reply

