Reading Challenge – Last of the Mohicans

Here’s the latest update on my classics reading challenge. I just read The Last of the Mohicans, and I quite enjoyed it. I don’t know why I’d never picked it up before, other than the fact that I don’t generally read much American lit (the exception being Poe). I found it a compelling story, aided by interweaving historical events and people into a fictional story. While Hawkeye’s biases towards the Delawares and against the Hurons colors the interactions, this serves, in my opinion, to add to the authenticity. Both sides held that the tribes who worked with them were better than the opposing tribes, even while they committed the same offenses – this is a common view, excusing the faults of our own side, to which I think we can all relate.

1. A 19th Century Classic – any book published between 1800 and 1899. – unfinished

2.  A 20th Century Classic – any book published between 1900 and 1967. – unfinished

3.  A classic by a woman author. – North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell. I’d never heard of her before, but it sounded like a good book and I wasn’t disappointed. While I wished part of it would have moved a little faster (and apparently it did in the original publication as a serial), it was a well-written story.

4.  A classic in translation.  – unfinished. Maybe I’ll go with Madame Bovary, but I’m not sure.

5.  A classic published before 1800. The Last of the Mohicans, by James Fenimore Cooper

6.  A romance classic. A Room with a View by E. M. Forster. I wasn’t all that impressed, really.

7.  A Gothic or horror classic. – Dracula by Bram Stoker. I can’t recommend this book enough! It is such an amazing book. Everyone needs to go and read this. Well – what are you waiting for?!

8.  A classic with a number in the title. – unfinished

9.  A classic about an animal or which includes the name of an animal in the title.  – unfinished

10. A classic set in a place you’d like to visit. –unfinished

11. An award-winning classic. – unfinished

12. A Russian Classic. – unfinished

Leave a Reply

